Explore Algeria





Algeria is located in the north of the African continent, bordering the Mediterranean Sea and is part of the Arab Maghreb Union (AMU), the African Union, the Arab States League and the MENA area. Its surface area makes it the tenth largest country in the world and the largest country, both in Africa, the Arab world and the Mediterranean basin.

Algeria shares more than 6385 km of land borders with seven neighbouring countries: Tunisia in the northeast, Libya in the east, Niger and Mali in the south, Mauritania and the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR) in the southwest, Morocco in the west.

Algeria is divided into 58 wilayas which are decentralized territorial collectivities of the state. They have legal personality and financial autonomy. They are also decentralized administrative districts of the State with two organs namely:

• The People’s Assembly of Wilaya, a deliberative body;

• The” Wali”, the Government’s executive body and delegate.